Search PBLA

Board of Directors

The Pro Bono Law Alberta Board of Directors consists of volunteers from across Alberta who share a dedication to the pursuit of access to justice for all Albertans.

Karen Fellowes | President
Counsel, DLA Piper (Canada) LLP (Calgary)

Ed Ma | Vice-President
Senior Strategy Advisor, Energy & Climate Change Policy, Suncor Energy Inc. (Calgary)

Jana Neal | Treasurer
CEO, SFG Investments Ltd. (Calgary)

Scott Harling | Secretary
Legal Counsel and Privacy Officer, University of Lethbridge (Lethbridge)

Brett Anderson | Director
Partner, Felesky Flynn LLP (Calgary)

Marija Bicanic | Director
Senior Legal Counsel & Privacy Officer, Shell Canada Ltd. (Calgary)

Eleanor Carlson | Director
Associate, Carbert Waite LLP (Calgary)

Corrie Flett | LSA Bencher Representative
Muessle Flett Law LLP (Fort McMurray)

Scott Matheson | Director
Associate, Field LLP (Edmonton)

Advisory Board

Pro Bono Law Alberta is honoured to be assisted by a distinguished Advisory Board, which is made up of members of the judiciary and senior members of the Alberta Bar.

Chair | The Honourable Mr. Justice Rodney A. Jerke, (Court of Queen’s Bench, Lethbridge)
The Honourable Madam Justice M.S. Paperny (Court of Appeal, Calgary)
The Honourable Mr. Justice John T. Henderson (Court of Queen’s Bench, Calgary)
The Honourable Madam Justice J.M. Ross (Court of Queen’s Bench, Edmonton)
The Honourable Judge A.H. Lefever (Provincial Court, Edmonton)
The Honourable John C. (Jack) Major C.C., QC (Bennett Jones LLP, Calgary)
The Honourable Allan H. Wachowich, QC (Edmonton)
Phyllis A.L. Smith, QC (Emery Jamieson LLP, Edmonton)
Donald G. Bishop, QC (Bishop & Mckenzie LLP, Edmonton)
Cheryl C. Gottselig, QC (Burnett Duckworth & Palmer LLP)
Bruce Churchill-Smith, QC (Borden Ladner Gervais LLP)


Nonye Opara, LLB, LLM | Executive Director
Samuel Wainer, CPA | Finance & Administrative Coordinator
Vasil Dimitrov | Program Coordinator (Calgary)
Rukaiyat Lawal | VLS and Program Coordinator (Edmonton)